2021 USPSA PCC 2Gun Nationals, Talladega, 6-4-21 (Open)

June 12, 2021

Capture

Open Division

  • Aero-Gibbz-Taccom 9mm PCC
    • Lower: Aero EPC-9 Glock lower, CMC 9mm trigger, A5 buffer tube with Kynshot 9mm short stroke buffer and Sprinco 308 (orange) spring and Luth MBA3 stock
    • Upper: Gibbz side charger with Taccom extreme feed barrel with muzzle break and Taccom 9mm bolt
    • Holosun 510c primary and Vortex Venom offset
    • Green laser at 9 o’clock position
    • Mix of loads:
      • 125gr BlB RN loads (3.9gr WST, 1.1OAL)
      • 125gr Gallant RN loads (3.2gr Titegroup, 1.1OAL)
      • 124gr Xtreme RN loads (3.2gr Titegroup, 1.1OAL)
    • ETS 40 round mag
    • 57 round MBX extended ETS mag
  • Open Edge in .40SW using 155gr Xtreme FN loads.
    • 155gr Xtreme plated flat nose
    • 7.5gr Longshot
    • 1.19OAL

First ever PCC 2gun Nationals, and I’m working the match after shooting all 11 stages on staff day. We drove out from Tampa on Wednesday, stopped at Americus, GA for the night and got to Talladega, AL early Thursday. Walked the stages to get stage plans down, then more good rest the night before.

First stage of the day and no surprise, I go first for the double stage (5 and 6)…

Stage 6

  • Pistol only.
  • While I thought it was good run, despite extras on the poppers, I’m told of an FTN.
  • 135th out of 224 shooters and 91st out of 132 in Open.

Stage 5

  • PCC only.
  • Took forever to load the 57rnd mag.
  • Good splits on paper, but too many extras on steel.
  • Bad timing on the swingers, a no-shoot on the far right, and I leave a popper standing. Oy.
  • 205th overall and 120th in Open.

Stage 1

  • Pistol only. This is the stage I’d work for the weekend, and after seeing all the different plans, there were better plans than this.
  • Steel needs to be 1 for 1.
  • Everything was scoring ok until a complete miss on the left most upper on the half-tux stack. Granted, this stage ate a lot of people’s lunches, mine included.
  • 152nd overall and 107th in Open.

Stage 2

  • Originally planned with reholstering, I figured it would be quicker not worrying about the pistol falling out.
  • This is a memory stage and good planning allowed for decisive shooting.
  • Still, an FTN but at least only 1 penalty.
  • 79th overall and 52nd in Open. This will be my best stage for the match.

Stage 3

Fast forward unless you want to watch the grass grow…

  • Pistol starts out great and things are going ok up until the first clay targets and the wheels fall off.
  • Long range with the PCC is a no-go. I know I’m really in trouble when I mag change without finishing the front section. It’s going really bad when I expend both 40 round mags and I’m not in my last position.
  • I’ve got big problems if we have more long range with the PCC.
  • 208th overall and 120th in Open. At least it’s not last.

Strange that my PCC is good to go on the numerous small poppers before this, but not clays. So I go to the equipment check range with different ammo from Lee that might be more accurate. It doesn’t connect either on my gun. Plan B is to change guns but still use my ammo. With a call to the RM to request a gun change, my PCC is shelved for Lee’s MBX PCC.

pxl_20210607_222627451

Stage 4

  • So it’s not me or my ammo. Lee’s gun runs my ammo and my ammo can hit far steel and clays.
  • And finally, a clean run – 92nd overall and 61st in Open. Third best stage.

Stage 11

  • Planned so the activated targets would be at rest when I shot them with the pistol.
  • FTN and complete miss on the far paper.
  • 130th overall and 82nd in Open.

Stage 7

  • Sequenced steel so I could shoot the activated targets fully open. By this time, we’re all getting really tired and starting to dig down. It was faster to shoot the maxtraps unactivated but I didn’t want to risk the no-shoots.
  • Shot it as planned, and in correct sequence, but FTN and complete miss again.
  • 129th overall and 82nd in Open.

Stage 8

  • All PCC and more proof my ammo works.
  • Bad timing on the swinger and bobbers; too much waiting.
  • At least it’s clean – 83rd overall and 53rd in Open. Second best stage.

Stage 9

  • More far steel with the PCC.
  • More swingers and waiting.
  • FTN with the PCC – 109th overall and 72nd in Open.

Stage 10

  • Hatcam ran out of juice, no video.
  • More running around, hitting far steel and clays with the PCC, and far paper with the pistol.
  • Finished fighting, with a clean run – 93rd overall and 67th in Open. Fourth best stage.

The Good

  • Stages 2, 4, 8 and 10.
  • Having good friends with zeroed guns.
  • No malfunctions, guns ran.
  • Endurance to go the distance – started shooting at 9, we finish at 7. That’s a long day of shooting and re-shooting.

Needs Improvement

  • Check long range zero or relegate the Gibbz upper to short-medium range duty and get an MBX.
  • Loading with the 57 round mag.
  • More speed more speed!

After the staff match, I was 18th overall. After 2 days and about 200 more shooters, I tumble to 127th. Finished 127th overall and 83rd in Open,

Many thanks to USPSA for a hard, challenging match. Special thanks to the sponsors for supporting the first PCC 2Gun Nationals, specifically: Title sponsor Sig Sauer, and JP Rifles and Berry’s for the certs I was able to snag at the prize table. Thank you also to Vortex and LAPG for the staff package of range bag, pants and shirt.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.