USPSA, WAC, 3-19-19

March 19, 2019

Open (minor)

  • Open Glock 17 with a G34 barrel, an SJC side mounted C-more, 13# recoil spring, and Dawson magwell. using ETS, 140mm and 170mm mags with 125gr BlB and 124gr BB loads.

This is this system’s first match, which I had hastily put together this weekend. The lower is the old Open G34 with the side mounted C-more. I took off the rear sight of the G17 so it could go on the G34 lower and instead of the original 4.7″ barrel, I replaced it with a new G34 barrel (hence why it’s sticking out). My intent is to get a threaded G17 barrel so I can put a comp on it to complete it as an Open gun (but that will probably wait until after Nationals). Despite being handicapped shooting minor against the normally major Open guns, for now I need to run the gun and get used to it for Nationals. The G34 CO will be backup.

Stage 2

  • Little trouble with the poppers, but I clean for the rest.
  • 24th out of 49

Stage 3

  • Steel 1 for 1.
  • 3 on the tuxedos/zebras as I learned from the Florida Open.
  • Speeding up on the paper when I can.
  • 11th

Stage 4

  • Slow for the first 2 low, then sped up for the upper wide open 2.
  • About as fast as I could run it.
  • 9th

Stage 1

  • Again, I just shot the plan and this is about as fast as I could run it.
  • Unfortunately, 2 mikes on 2 targets.
  • 17th

The Good

  • Stage 2
    • Slow, deliberate — ‘getting to know you’. Even though it’s the same lower I’d shot before, the new upper makes it different.
  • Stage 3
    • Clean, and now faster; getting better.
  • Stage 4
    • Best stage for the night.
  • Stage 1
    • Great time but offset by some mikes.

Needs Improvement

  • First stage jitters and not shooting a pistol in 2 weeks except for testing = steel not 1 for 1 on the get go.
  • While I do get faster as the night goes, I get too fast and mike on the last stage. Great time, but the mikes get me. At least I know I can run it fast.

Finished 17th out of 49 and 5th out of 6 in open.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.