2018 Fort Benning Multigun Challenge, Nov. 16-18, 2018

November 21, 2018

Open Division

  • G34 CO – Fastfire 3, 12.5# recoil spring, tungsten guiderod, ETS mags, 125gr BlB RN ammo
  • 18″ NFSC – 18″ New Frontier Side Charging upper on the M&P lower with JP trigger and SCSS, Strike Eagle 1-8, offset mini-dot, JP Eliminator, SCSS, Armaspec magwell, Federal 55gr and PPU 69gr ammo
  • Saiga 12 – Venom dot, Remington Target (1200fps), Heavy Dove (1250fps) and Managed Recoil (1200fps) slugs.

DAY 1

Stage 12

  • First day, first stage, first shooter. Temp was about 30-40 degrees. I didn’t mind going first, as I’m pretty used to it now,  and I thought there wasn’t much to planning the stage except making sure I knew the best positions for the rifle.
  • Pistol looks like I was tentative and hesitant at points, with too many shots on the swingers, and me looking around for now reason.
  • The swingers were unlike what I’m used to, with a delay after the activator is shot and I shot them that way. With this setup, as soon as the activator is shot, it’s going, so it can be shot immediately instead of shooting other targets while waiting as there is no wait.
  • Rifle portion is too slow to be competitive. While it was dawn and the sun was just rising, the targets were visible enough. I turned on illumination at minimum so the reticle wouldn’t disappear into the dark blue targets. What did give me trouble was my breath, as it was fogging up my scope. You can see my breath rising as I exhale. As it rises, what’s in the way? The scope’s eyepiece.
  • 154th out of 248 shooters.

Stage 9

  • Pistol splits could be quicker but at least I was shooting on the move.
  • Some shooters in the squad ahead of us shot the Polish plate rack in about a fifth of the time I did, or faster. Too many extras, and the FTF only added to the time. The FTF (incomplete battery) – which had started showing itself the past few matches – would continue for the rest of the match.
  • On pulling the slung rifle, only then did I realize I didn’t make ready on it, and the chamber flag was still in. Extra time to get the flag out and then load the mag. Good thing it was set to 8x and I didn’t need illumination.
  • Rifle is better now that it warmed up (just a bit) so no more foggy breathing. Just a few extras this time.
  • 136th

Stage 10

  • One of the very few (if not the only) times the Saiga ran.
  • I should’ve dumped the SG at the barrel next to the staged rifle to save a stopping point.
  • Rifle goes well up until the last small popper (took 4 to hit). Paper shot with the side dot, steel with the scope set to 8x.
  • The cut I took to get to the sled cost me a procedural. I should’ve checked to see if I could leave the shooting area.
  • Too many extras on steel leading to a standing reload with the pistol.
  • 179th

Stage 11

  • Better pistol work this time around, and the Saiga FTFs again.
  • 127th, best for the day.

DAY 2

Stage 4

  • Pistol splits need some speeding up.
  • SG going great up until another FTF
  • Why 4 on the open target, even on the move? Could’ve used some speeding up.
  • Looks like I’m overly cautious and ginger.
  • 117th – good start for the day better than any from Day 1

Stage 1

  • Nothing but FTFs
  • Should’ve shot mostly pistol after clearing the back SG targets instead.
  • 145th

Stage 2

  • Forgot to turn on camera, no FP video.
  • Probably should’ve taken an intermediate clay between the flipper and flyer.
  • This time the Saiga ran (2nd time it does).
  • 95th (wow, I broke 100)

Stage 3

  • Pistol goes well, but I only get 1 in on the first drop turner.
  • SG goes well up until that last clay and the bolt is permanently locked back it seems, after numerous attempts, including a mag change. This is what happened:

    Saiga finally bit it.
  • 155th

Day 3

With the Saiga down, I use my friend Lee’s TTI Benelli M2 with extended mag tube, which I can load up to 11+1.

photo from TTI

Stage 8

  • New day, and with the Saiga down, using Lee’s Benelli with max load of 12 (13 using his B&P ammo but we find that out only at the last stage).
  • So thinking I had 13 instead of actually 12, I lose the round count. With the gun locked back after using up the tube, I load up on the slugs and promptly forget the last clay. All 4 slugs miss the first 75yd slug steel target. For future work, engage everything once, then come back for the makeups to avoid the FTEs.
  • At least I don’t forget to prep my rifle unlike stage 9.
  • Pistol is the best part of this debacle.
  • 217th

Stage 5

  • SG goes well, getting used to the Benelli, even though I actually loaded 4 instead of the 2 needed on the move to the barrel.
  • Probably should’ve shot those first few rifle targets elsewhere (probably at the dump barrel) to save a position.
  • Splits with the rifle are slow to start but looks like I tell myself to speed up.
  • Not pretty, but I get over the wall. (!)
  • Pistol has some extras, but I’m just happy I get over the wall.
  • 154th

Stage 6

  • Splits need to be consistent with the targets (slow on close but faster on further). Need to be confident the hits will get there.
  • SG goes well and I avoid the no-shoots (black plates).
  • Should’ve started on the left with the pistol as my head was already pointed there to start.
  • 118th

Stage 7

  • Rifle splits finally are where they should be. I shot closer targets without no-shoots slower. Also didn’t need that third and last rifle shot (I was told there were 3 holes and I only needed 1).
  • Pistol is pretty good with shooting on the move, up until that second to the last popper that falls on the 4th shot.
  • SG is also pretty good.
  • 109th, my second best stage.

The Good

  • LR rifle – not too many extras (some of my friends timed out)
  • General rifle work (clean match) – really pleased with the 18″ NFSC system, will be THE match rifle and re-start using the 20″ JP as the practice rifle
  • General SG work when it was working
  • Not giving up even when the Saiga bit it
  • Getting over the wall
  • For stages with simple movement (Day 1 and 2), I used the Bladetech holster. For Day 3 with the wall and the most running, I used the Safariland retention holster. Both worked great but I was less smooth with the Safariland.

Needs Improvement

  • Speed up LR rifle
  • Split consistency with both rifle and pistol. Stage 7 with intermediate ranged rifle targets show I can connect with 2 quick shots.
  • More pistol practice on further steel (or verify zero)
  • Need to speed up SG after watching other squads and seeing their SG splits
  • Get the Saiga fixed or move on to the Vepr
  • Keep up with the PT to develop speed and agility (to get over the wall quicker, and other physical challenges)
  • Draw practice with the Safariland holster

Definitely better than 2 years ago, but with lots of room (acres!) for improvement. I seem to be too careful and ginger with my actions, rather than being quick and direct while still being safe. Finished 140th overall and 31 out of 46 in Open.

Many thanks to Fort Benning, The AMU, MWR, match staff and sponsors for hosting this great match! Thank you to Lee, Keith, Chris and Mike for the camaraderie and friendship. Thanks too to Icarus Shirts, Deep River Customs Inc., DaVinci MachiningThe Wyoming Antelope Club, God’a Grip and Gunfighter Gun Oil for supporting Team Icarus Florida.

Special thanks to CMC Triggers for supporting the match, and for the CMC Glock 9mm Flat Trigger from the prize table!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.