USPSA WAC, 11-6-18

November 7, 2018

Carry Optics

  • Glock 34 with a Burris Fastfire 3, using regular, 140mm Dawson Extended and ETS 21 round mags with 125gr BlB loads.
  • Running a new Safariland 6390 RDS ALS holster with retention (removed the anti-grab shield).

Stage 1

  • Semi-finesse plan, for the ones on the left side. Direct meant posting in front of them – 2 positions – for quicker shots.
  • Clean,  19th out of 51.

Stage 2

  • I started with a 17 rounder, so I only shot what needed to be shot on the front left position and shot the rest in the end.
  • Steel 1 for 1.
  • 6th

Stage 3

  • Start with gun on barrel, unloaded.
  • Ran this counterflow to everyone else as I felt there was less movement.
  • Couldn’t tag the activator – took 3.
  • Tight round count and once I took the extras on the activator, I knew I had to reload. I reload while retreating.
  • Double max-trap is clean – I had thought about not even taking it and just taking the no penalty mikes.
  • Good splits on the last 3.
  • 10th

Stage 4

  • Trouble again with the first piece of steel – probably not getting steady enough after moving, just like in the previous stage. Next 2 are 1 for 1.
  • Mike on the right swinger (as I remember now, I thought the second shot was wonky but good enough and obviously not).
  • 20th

The Good

  • Stage 2 – good splits, steel 1 for 1.
  • Clean on the double clamshell.
  • Gun ran
  • Better holster work than last Sunday, but still needs work.

Needs Improvement

  • Splits (always)
  • Swingers – 2 and done – but do the make-up(s) if I see it (stage 4).
  • Waiting for parts so I can drop the holster a tad lower.

Finished 15th overall and 2nd out of 8 in CO.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.