USPSA TBSPC, Ruskin, 3-4-18

March 5, 2018

PCC Division with the PSA-JP9, TRS-25 dot, SIG laser-light combo, 124gr BB RN ammo, Glock 33rnd mag.

Stage 3

  • Laser on, dot on 1st target while in low port arms start position. Works great until the next target and I shoulder the gun, and see 2 dots. Which one?! Didn’t dry fire, so I’m guessing at this point instead of knowing. Or get a green laser.
  • After quickly figuring out the dots, the first 3 on the right go ok, as does the 3 on the left, while on the move.
  • The 2 steel I plan to take from the left box both ding and I leave to go to the front box. But I see the large popper NOT fall, so I step back, ding it again, leave, not fall again… box tango. I should have just gone on to the front box, and shot the steel from there, closer, instead of being wedded to the original plan. Lesson learned: sometimes moving forward after a failure and leaving it, allows a future opportunity to fix it with better conditions.
  • After finally falling and wasting all that time, I finish with the steel, paper, and headshot (was the activated clamshell).
  • 34th out of 55

Stage 4

  • Last/back array of Stage 3, starting with barrel on middle wall.
  • Laser now off, and the steel that gave me problems falls easily.
  • Right array goes as from before. 17th

Stage 5

  • El Prez
  • I go too fast and call a bad shot on the second target. My brain automatically says “make it up” = extra shot, extra hit (didn’t need to shoot again).
  • 44th

Stage 6

  • 3 far on the left from the start, then 4 on the move on the right.
  • 2 more on the move on the left (mid range but wide open), 3 more on the move on the right, then end on 2 with no-shoots through the port.
  • 7th – finally, a good stage!

Stage 1

  • From the upside down triangle ‘box’, first target on the move to the left, plus 1 more.
  • Run to the right side for 2 more paper with no-shoots and 3 steel. The 3rd steel is obscured by the 2 bigger poppers in front of it, but part of it is visible through the gap, so I shoot through it.
  • 5th

Stage 2

  • My plan is backwards from everyone else, starting up front instead of the back. From there, I thought the targets flowed better…
  • 3 far on the left, sweeping left to right. 2 up close on the right on the move to the right, and from that position, 4 more far paper.
  • Move uprange to the right and take the close one on coming into position. Finish with 2 far paper.
  • 13th

The Good

  • Gun ran! – Much, much better than the last Ruskin match with this gun (malfunction junction)
  • Accuracy – clean, except for 1 mike
  • Mental game – not letting the bad beginning get to me, I get better through the day
  • Planning
  • Improving fitness

Needs Improvement

  • Dryfire – to address identifying which dot is which
  • Or get a green laser – but dryfire is cheaper
  • Keep on improving fitness

Too many bad stages in the beginning to recover from, even with the better stages later on. Finished 16th overall and 6th out of 12 in PCC.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.